Kansas DUI Laws
The Kansas DUI Laws carry stiff penalties. It used to be that only the last five years of your driving record would be taken into account in DUI cases, now your lifetime driving record is considered.
DUI is considered a criminal offense, with your third or subsequent conviction it will be charged at the felony level. A DUI conviction carries such penalties as fines up to $2,500, jail time of up to one year, suspended license for up to one year, and mandatory alcohol and drug treatment programs at your own expense. The court costs, supervision fees and other expenses will be your responsibility, too, not to mention increased insurance rates.
If you are arrested for DUI while driving a commercial vehicle, not only will you face the same penalties as a person in a passenger car, but you will automatically lose your CDL (and the main part of your livelihood) for one year.
If you're younger than 21 and are found to have a BAC of .02% or higher, you'll face an automatic 30-day driver's license suspension, followed by 330 days of restricted driving privileges.
First DUI Offense
Conviction of a first DUI is a Class B misdemeanor.
JAIL: Up to a maximum of six (6) months imprisonment.
FINE: Minimum fines $500.00. Court costs may also be between $10.00 and $100.00.
PROBATION: Only after a person has served a mandatory minimum of 48 hours of incarceration are they eligible for probation. The general terms of probation are no drinking, do not break the law, attend alcohol education classes, etc. Probation is for 1 year.
Second DUI Offense
Conviction of a second DUI is a Class A misdemeanor.
JAIL: Up to a maximum of one year imprisonment.
FINE: Minimum fines of $1000.00. Court costs may also be between $10.00 and $100.00.
PROBATION: Only after a person has served a mandatory minimum of five days of incarceration, or alternative five days sentencing, are they eligible for probation. The general terms of probation are no drinking, do not break the law, attend alcohol education classes, etc. Probation is for 1 year.
Third or Subsequent DUI Offense
Three or more DUI's within your lifetime may mean that the driver is eligible to be charged as a Felony
JAIL: Minimum sentence of 90 days up to 1 year in prison.
FINE: Minimum fine of $2,500.00, plus court costs.
PROBATION: Following the jail sentence, the defendant is then placed on a probation for 1 year.
If you are charged with DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) in Kansas, you should consult with an experienced drunk driving DUI defense attorney. Many times Kansas is very tough on DUI, and the issue is serious enough that having is necessary in order to protect your rights. Your driver's license could be suspended or revoked if you don't take action within 10 days of your arrest if your results of your test were above the Kansas' prohibited level (.08%, age 21 or over; .02%, under age 21) or if you refused to take a breath, blood or urine test after being arrested for DUI in Kansas. Do not wait to contact us for a free consultation with a Kansas City DUI lawyer.
Blood Alcohol Limits
Blood alcohol concentration (BAC), is the system of measure used to determine the level of alcohol in your bloodstream. It is illegal to drive in Kansas with a BAC of .08% or higher if you are 21 years old or older and .02%, under 21 years old. In Kansas, if you test above .15% you will be subject to much stiffer penalties.
Kansas Hardship License
If your Kansas licence has been revoked for convictions or a chemical test refusal, there are no hardship licenses under Kansas law.